Lifetime achievement award

Who needs a closed horse-drawn carriage…

and an American luxury accessory from a fashion company based in New York City?

I’d rather take a coach bus in my comfortable jeans.  It’s more my style.   I need to pay attention to the people I meet along the way.

The coach I need is the person.  The one that teaches an athlete to perform both on and off the court.  Their life lessons are the accessories I’ve carried for a lifetime.

  • Team and family matter.
  • Focus.
  • Be strong.
  • You are strong.
  • Hold your own.
  • Capitalize on your assets.
  • Rely on your teammates when you’re stuck in a corner.
  • Give it your all.
  • Give and go.
  • Keep your feet moving.
  • Keep your eye on the ball.
  • Always be ready for the ball.
  • Beat Callahan (okay, that one’s personal).
  • Work as a team.
  • Respect your elders.
  • Earn respect.
  • Be intense.
  • Take care of yourself.
  • You can do it.
  • Get into a rhythymn.
  • Try.
  • Practice. Practice. Practice.
  • Know your options.
  • Have a solid defense.
  • Don’t overcommit.
I carry that coaching with me every day.  I use it without even realizing it.  I tap into it when I need it the most.  Coach isn’t physically around but she’s with me.
Today I remembered that if I’m going to jump, I’m going to jump high.
I know I’ll land on my feet because my eye is on the ball…
…and that’s my style.
bball

 

3 thoughts on “Lifetime achievement award”

Comments are closed.