Almost taken out

I literally had my life in my hands. Both hands were on the steering wheel but luckily had enough instinct to save me. I pulled into the local Asian restaurant and quickly paused at the entrance to decide if I should go straight and park in the back or turn left and park in front of the door.

My hands held tight to the wheel and decided not to turn.  The driver of a parked vehicle looked left but not toward the entrance and backed toward me. He had no idea I was there.

Sonofabitch!

I stopped altogether and decided to stay there until the driver realized he almost took me out along with his crab rangoon. I thought about what expression, or gesture, to give him once he attempted to exit alongside me.

He realigned his wheels, changed gears and looked up.

He moved toward my bitchy face just as I recognized his face.

I was suddenly in a much worse position than him. One of, if not THE, nicest guys in town. Genuine and sweet not just to me but our girls. Welcoming and interested not just in my husband but our entire family.

He recognized me right away and acknowledged my vehicle in a way only he could. He flashed his infectious smile and yelled out, “Hello darlin’!”

The stress of the day rolled off as I rolled my window further down to appropriately respond, “Hi sweetie!” I moved forward to now get out of his way.

“I’m so sorry. You know I love you.”  I heard him yelling an apology as his vehicle moved toward the exit.

I drove to the rear of the lot screaming,”I love you too!”

It was a scream – literally and figuratively. We had the instincts to save each other from embarrassment before we died of it.  I’ll always remember Kevin trying to take me out the day I went to get take out.

7 thoughts on “Almost taken out”

Comments are closed.