Yard sale humor

It was pouring early this Saturday morning in New England. Nobody likes bad weather when you finally get to the weekend. For a yard saler, it’s a huge let down.

Part of it is denial but I was hopeful it would stop.  At 6 a.m. it had time to burn off so people could still set up. The raining finally ceased after breakfast, so I headed to my Mom’s to pick her up.

We drove to the next town for the two advertised yard sales. It was a bit of a drive on the chance they’d put out their wares. After I considered it, I told my Mom that it wouldn’t matter if they were set up our not.

“Why?”

“If they didn’t, we can just knock on the door and ask where it all is.”

I found the humor in it but she did not.

My Dad teased me and said, “I think you’ve been to too many yard sales in your lifetime.”

Me? I just get my exercise by taking walks in other people’s yards.”

You’d think lightning would’ve struck.

Photo: $5 Polo bag

2 thoughts on “Yard sale humor”

Comments are closed.