May 23 yard sale

May 23 was one of the first big yard sale days in central New England. It was the holiday weekend but signs were posted across the region. Our first stop was the one that started the earliest and was advertised as a 2-day yard sale.

  • It was an early start because she had two little kids that probably woke up at the break of dawn.
  • It was a two-day sale because they needed that long to sell the used diaper pail, beads and multiple plastic ride-ons.

Our “been there, done that” group was frustrated but determined so we headed to the other side of town. This second driveway was full and there was something for everyone. Even the non-cook in me found two items. My inner Julia bought some unopened Swedish knives for $1 and a cast iron bacon press for $1.

photo-35

I love motivated sellers.

Since we were near the area flea market, we walked amongst the tables there too. I thought it was appropriate that I bought a package of puppy pads at the flea. I can’t always put a cork on my humor but I’d need some corks for my vintage 1970’s Merry Mushroom salt and pepper set.

photo 1-17

The cluster gouged me for fifty cents. As we regrouped, it was music to my ears to leave for more yard sales. So much so, I bought an LP on my way out featuring a local radio station of my youth.

We found a few more yard sales near the old amusement park in town. It still doesn’t amuse me that people wanted to live on the acreage of my old Pirates Den and Fun House. I’m almost glad the road next to them is turning into a more modern Speedway. Regardless and ironically, we found some antique cars. They were only Matchbox but valuable given their size. The local clown from the entrance to the park is now in a museum but one house did have some vintage Santa ornaments.

Finding items from my Whalom childhood was a crock.

The universe knew it too and sent a 2 gallon crock my way in the next neighborhood. I paid $5 but it’s in perfect condition and can be resold.

photo 4-10

There was also a huge and gorgeous polo luggage bag at that house.  It’s resale price was as much as a modern amusement park ticket. I left it at the exit.

We continued into the next town which is closer to the Interstate. The commuters there have mansions and landscapers. They just can’t afford a yard sale consultant. We don’t want their dirty barbeque tools and used tennis shoes. We also aren’t going to throw a ten-piece walnut dining set into the back of a Datsun. It was both insulting and a slap in the face.

None of us bought anything there or in their downtown where someone set up a huge carnival tent – to sell absolutely nothing of value. Instead, we made our own carnival and drove to the local orchard and bought our nickel cider and cider doughnuts.

The last stop on the way home was my honey hole. I wondered what was in the Wonder bag and found five pairs of old white baby shoes stuffed inside. I also found a vintage umbrella with a Bakelite handle. I put my sandwich bag inside a clay pot I also liked and asked the owner if they’d take $5 for my bread bag, pot and wholly umbrella.

Sold!

photo 2-17

We HAD to stop at one more unadvertised yard sale we discovered on the way home.  Everyone agreed to stop so I bargained an agreeable price of four quarters for a vintage wooden hand beater.

photo 2-10

It was noon, so we beat it and finally made it home for our holiday lunch.  It was a beautiful morning in central New England. We made memories on Memorial Day weekend.

7 thoughts on “May 23 yard sale”

Comments are closed.