Lit

I usually read my devotional calendar before bed, to add perspective to my day.  This morning, I intentionally read it before work. I thought the words might help me through some difficult conversations. I wasn’t looking forward to the ominous day ahead of me.

“Don’t be afraid of the dark. Instead of seeing the darkness as frightening, view it as a precious and wonderful place to be. When everything around you gets darker, the light inside you will grow brighter. God will speak to you and give you illumination right where you are.”

Reading the words made me smile and put a sly grin on my face. I had the power to get through my day. I left with renewed confidence. I wasn’t afraid of what might and might not happen.

The meetings and conversations were honest and fair.  I even learned a few things about myself. A light bulb went on for me.

On the way home, I stopped at the library to see Cristina, a young Spanish women that I tutor. We were in a precious and wonderful place – each other’s company. Conversations with Cristina enlighten me. She helps me to think. To laugh.  To grow.

I had decided not to be afraid of my day.  As the evening grew darker, my light grew brighter –  right where we were. 

One thought on “Lit”

Comments are closed.