Mister

Our 24th wedding anniversary was yesterday. It was filled with the annual sense of awe and irritation. Awe that we made it this far and irritation knowing we pushed a few buttons along the way.

We’re like a comfortable old wool sweater that can’t be thrown away.  It keeps you warm and protected but if there’s nothing else, you itch like hell.  Hell or high water (more snow in this case) we were getting dinner from our favorite Italian restaurant. We enjoyed it in the  comfort of our rustic home.  We’ve  raised a family here and had stressful challenges too.

The point is, I wasn’t sure how to feel about our long-term affair? I needed to know it was commitment versus comfort. More fun and happiness than growing pains and worry.  I didn’t know if I was thankful or just trying to endure?

I looked to my calendar to gain some perspective:

“Love never gives up, never loses faith, is always hopeful, and endures through every circumstance.”  1 Corinthians 13:7

I do love you, Mister.  I can never forget that part…even if you do still eat off my plate!

3 thoughts on “Mister”

Comments are closed.