Lesson 8 – Oh great!

When Cristina and I saw each other, she immediately hugged me and giggled.

“My blog?”

“Yes, I love it!”

“How much did you read? Did you see all our lesson entries?”

https://mstoywhisperer.wordpress.com/about/new-blog-entries/literacy-volunteer-esol/

“Well, I love the trees.”

I quickly tried to remember to which Lesson post I’d attached a tree photo?  I came up empty and must have had a suddenly deflated expression.

“You know. Tree. How you say?”

“Yes, tree. I’m just trying to recall the photo.”

“A tree. It has branches and leaves.” She held her arms out for limbs.

Every lesson I get a sense for what it must be like on the other side of learning a language.

“Oh. Yes. I know what a tree is. I’m thinking about which photo?”

“The ones with the smiles? They were so funny.”

That finally translated in my tired, I’ve already put in a full day of work, mind.

“You saw my ‘tree stickers’ too?” I was flattered that she’d explored the blog beyond our lessons. Those were silly outside photos I’d posted after the blizzard.  I was almost embarrassed that she was starting to know how crazy I was.

bowtie

We had emailed during the week.  That’s how I knew she’d started to view the blog.  I’d wanted to make sure she approved of me documenting our progress before I continued. She was fine with the entries as well as me posting our selfie.  However, I since decided I want to post it as part of a side-by-side at the end of our year together.

Email is a great way for us to make our plans and work on sentence structure.  Cristina’s last email had said she wanted a blog too. I was thrilled that I’d inspired her.  She asked if I could help. Now I was intimidated.

Take one thing you don’t know – like a foreign language – and combine it with something WAY outside your comfort zone – like say, technology – and tell me you wouldn’t at least be a little unsure of yourself.

Ãs Cristina fired up her laptop I told her I’d started a list of words with long vowel sounds for her to practice. I didn’t have them with me but I told her ‘live’ was an example. She’d seen a band live last week, so I was trying to personalize the list. The dual meaning also meant she had to ‘live’ through my explanation.  

A fresh WordPress template was now in front of me in Spanish.

Deep breath.

I know the layout so I could translate the tabs.

I pointed out the pages and the widgets. Those are key to the initial design.

Then I explained that it’s really about preference…and I admitted it took me weeks to get started.

I told her it might take some experimenting.  While I felt like I left her hanging, I told her the basics still apply – saving and trial & error.

Our time was up but I told her I couldn’t wait to see her go live!

Copyright Donna L. Crowe

 

2 thoughts on “Lesson 8 – Oh great!”

Comments are closed.