Face Time

Our girls knew that I had broken down before they went back to school – and finally bought a smart phone! What they didn’t realize was that I hadn’t yet discovered all the various types of emoticons at my disposal. Last night they found out I have a new addiction.

Until yesterday, I just used a ๐Ÿ˜ here or there. Recently, I had noticed I could personalize it a little more with my hairstyle ๐Ÿ‘ง and glasses ๐Ÿ˜Ž. As if that wasn’t cool enough, there was a day last week when I was responding to comments and noticed I could add a toy soldier ๐Ÿ’‚ too!

Then there was last night. The relaxing eve after the blizzard. A day of working from home was complete, all the snow was cleared and we’d just decided to have hot soup for dinner. The night was still young. I curled up near the wood stove with my buddy.

See previous post: https://mstoywhisperer.wordpress.com/2015/01/28/pug-mug/

I had a book but didn’t feel like reading. My tablet was with us but I wasn’t inspired to write. The bills and housework could wait. I blamed it on the snow. It makes you lazy.

I took out my restlessness on the girls. It’s their own fault. They didn’t answer their phones. Some time later, Trisha didn’t call back but she did text. I’m sure it was sweetly that she typed, ‘what do you want’?

Study hard I replied ๐Ÿ“˜๐Ÿ“š๐Ÿ“Ž๐Ÿ“Œ๐Ÿ“๐Ÿ“ฎ๐Ÿ“๐Ÿ“ƒ.

With no return message after a couple of minutes I went for a social media cliffhanger – ๐Ÿ“ฌ soon.

She took the bait, ‘my Christmas exchange’?

๐Ÿ‘•๐Ÿ‘˜๐ŸŽฝ yes.

Stop with the emojis.

๐Ÿ‘€๐Ÿ’œ U!

You are a bored old woman.

…and you are my ๐Ÿ‘ฃ๐Ÿšผ๐Ÿ‘ง

Nothing.

So I asked, what are you ๐Ÿ’ญ?

Thinking we were done for the night, I added – ๐Ÿ’ค๐Ÿ’ค๐Ÿ’ค๐Ÿ’ค๐Ÿ’ค๐Ÿ’ค

But Trisha knows me well enough to have realized I was both bored and missing her. She also knew if she just called me, I’d get off her back.The phone rang and I was thrilled! I saw it said ‘face time’ and was ecstatic! It was her calling – on another feature I could learn how to use!

First I just had to answer it. I know green means go. I slid it and excitedly yelled ‘Hi Trisha!’!

MOM!

What?! I’m thrilled that you decided to call. Sometimes I just like to hear the sound of your voice.

Right Mom, but I’m looking at your feet! You don’t know how this works do you?!

In a fit of laughter I tried to convince her I’d figure it out.

I could hear her pull her roommates into the conversation, “Look at my mom’s slippers. She doesn’t know technology AT All.”

“OK Trisha I got it. Are you still there?”

“MOM. If you can see me, I’m still here.”

I knew that. It was my rotary phone childhood that was reacting to my excitement. Trisha could focus on me now and commented on my hat. Evidently, She hadn’t realized I actually do wear my Adam Lambert hat around the house.

We chatted for just a few minutes, just liken the Jetsons!, and then she asked to talk to Dad. I didn’t need my phone to tell me she was being smart. She was probably telling techno-wise-Daddy that I had a technology deficit. Maybe I was overly excited..but I was just trying to emote.

10 thoughts on “Face Time”

  1. Love it! My Pops has fully emerged himself in Smartphone world, and at nearing 70, I reckon that’s pretty good going! However, his text speak is still sometimes quite his own…
    A message came to tell me he was going to a funeral that day, signed off, LOL Pops x
    My Hubby Dearest asked “why does Pops ‘laugh’ at everything? Isn’t this a tad inappropriate? ” well, thats because he is still one who thinks it means ‘lots of love’! Bless him, I don’t have the heart to correct him! It’s so cute!!!

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.