Daily Prompt

I awoke with a smile on my face and a key in my hand. I knew I had fallen asleep after saying my prayers. I’d looked back and realized for many years I lived with worry, resentment, fear, doubt and admittedly, even gluttony. 2014 had woken me up to realize it was filled with good people, laughter, hope, family, beautiful scenery and a very personal blessing that had set my perspective in motion. I knew that key had locked happiness and peace into my heart and would unlock the gates of heaven.

bdhesse

Day 22 —You wake up with a key gripped tightly in your hand. How did you get this key? What does it lock or unlock?
“What the…?” I say as I shake off the last bits of sleep. I feel like I’ve been asleep for a decade.
I look around and realise that I’m sitting in my computer chair. As I begin to stand up, I hear a clatter. I look down to see an old key on the floor. I had been holding it.
“What happened?” I wonder aloud. I don’t remember going to sleep. I don’t even remember coming home. The last thing I remember is…the prank.
I had been out with a couple friends. We decided to stop by the old abandoned farmhouse. It’s been here forever. I don’t even remember anyone living there. Ever. The last owner was said to have died 100 years ago. Nobody…

View original post 1,309 more words

One thought on “Daily Prompt”

Comments are closed.