The Great Pumpkin

It’s full autumn here in New England. The maples are flaming red, the oaks shine brilliant yellows and the pumpkins are in all their orange splendor. They are all in and around the farm stands along with dry corn stalks, gourds and hay wagons.

It’s also Sunday, so we brought our daughter back to campus in Northern New Hampshire. The drive and conversation was enjoyable for a million reasons. One Dad fun fact in particular stuck out for me as I think through the day:

“If you put a pumpkin into diluted bleach, it will last weeks longer.”

My daughter counseled, “That’s not good for you.”

“I’m not a pumpkin.” Dad clarified.

Too cute. Too cool. I think I’ll try it when I fill my scarecrow with the splendor of leaves and hitch him to the cornstalk. I’ll also give him a few orange friends to ride out the season.

